Regretting not having kids?

“So, do you regret not having kids?” A woman-not-named asks me after it comes out in conversation that I can’t have kids.
“Do you need a dictionary?”
She looks at me dumbfounded.
“I’d like to be one of those, who chose career over children or who are too old to have children, or even just say I don’t like kids, but as it turns out, can’t have means I do not have a choice! Can’t choose not having having kids if I CAN’T HAVE KIDS! I can’t regret a choice I didn’t have!”
Her response – stare, then mumbled. “You don’t have to be so rude about it!”
So  I made my best impression feigning shock. “Oh! I’m sorry, did I hurt your feelings?”

Might be a bitch move, but you have no idea how many times I’ve heard that bullshit of a sentence, so let me put this in perspective for you!

REGRET = I MADE A STUPID DECISION AND NOW FEEL BAD ABOUT IT.
CAN’T HAVE CHILDREN = I HAVE NO CHOICE IN THE MATTER!

See the difference? So if you, mother of the year, try guilt tripping someone, who have no choice in the matter of having kids- FUCK YOU! They can be so jealous they could eat their own hair, but there is absolutely NOTHING they can do, if nature has not given them even the opportunity! So why in hell should they regret not having kids? What bullshit social stigma is this? You can’t have kids, so you should feel ashame for it? For what? Being me?

Will that jump-start their ovaries if they regretted it? Is it one of those deeply Christian things? You’re infertile, but hey! Pray to God and he’ll help you! Have a little news for you then – it doesn’t work that way and I can rip my heart out and it will still not change the facts.

Which brings me to another conversation from a forum – one particular “case” of Christian, who said it was punishment for my crimes. Well. What a peach. What crimes had I committed by the age of ten, I asked her? She went silent after a while and logged out. Thank god we have ocean between us, because… god, how do such people even exist?

nuclear-atom-bomg-explosion-animated-gif-5

Leave a comment

Filed under Drama

Leave a Reply

