7 years in WP – hooray!

Well, we did have cake 🙂

I wanted to do a rant post, but it is rather pointless to make one, when I’m not even sure if its out of jealousy or out of self pity. You know, one of those – why they get help while I had to figure it all out on my own? I’m still figuring things out, well, and…

Awh, heck with it.

I’m a bit behind with the stories. Niece came over for week-end and I was stupid enough to actually sit down during our less stressful days, which weren’t many as work has been keeping me busy for over a week, and can’t blame anybody for not doing prep writing for the busy time. Which is why the Friday Flash probably popped from my mind. I’m not happy about it, so I’ll do double post on coming Friday to keep the weeks even. I kinda like them being even.

I tried publishing again. Put the Third Law up for sale on Amazon before I thought I scream to the world that guess what! The joy lasted half an hour until a comment appeared with 1 star rating – “You would sell so much more if you asked 0.99 instead of 3.59”.  Thank you, whoever you were, because it was, AGAIN, a random troll running amok through the wide Amazon. No other comments, no other purchases. And what am I supposed to do with a 1 star rating? Took it down, of course, because who among you all would even look at a book with 1 star rating? I’m being honest here to myself. No point of keeping it up, especially as I know from personal experience that it is impossible to remove those troll “no-purchase confirmed” comments. As no one had bought it, so I took it down before starting the campaign.

I’m not taking the comment personally, as it had nothing to do with the book. It wasn’t bought, the whoever troll didn’t comment the story itself, so I am not touched by it personally aside being dead angry that Amazon allows such comments! I can hit the “Report abuse” link how ever many times I like and explain it has no relation to the product, it will still remain there! Which means I have already two books with 1-3 star ratings which were left by non-buyers, who had no other problem with the story aside to mark out that “IDK” and “asks too much for it”. And lets not forget “I haven’t read the book, but I’m just giving 3 stars”!

I guess that’s where the self pity part comes in. For once I would like a helping hand building my promotion plan up with steps rather than try climbing a clean cut wall with graffiti “straight fall”. A pat on the back without asking for it first.

It didn’t help to read an article in local news stating how every author in the region can apply for “city writer salary”. I thought about it and went to check it out. Who wouldn’t? Turns out I don’t qualify because I’m not living in the city, but in the county.

Which reminds me I have about 2 weeks to prep the homepage for upcoming Nanowrimo time so you still get the updates while I concentrate on new story.

Right now I feel like the squeaking bird, who somehow isn’t a real writer, because she doesn’t live in the county. Who can’t apply for writer status, because she doesn’t know the right people to join the Author’s Society, who can’t apply for state salary, because she doesn’t promote local culture (read – doesn’t use Estonia as background) nor writes in the right language… God, I live in the wrong place at the wrong time.

I’m tired, that’s all. And sad. I want to be cuddled, pampered with knowledge and business strategies that explain things and don’t just come in nice picture form on Pinterest. A real business with plans and stages of strategies and just to be recognized for who I am.

Awh, heck with it all. Ok, so as far as “official” writer’s society goes, I don’t exist. I guess I need to learn business then, it’s not like I can rely on anybody else with this problem.

1.gif

4 Comments

Filed under Drama

4 responses to “7 years in WP – hooray!

  1. So sorry to hear this. 😩

    • I was too, but new day and I guess there is still library and their business section.

      • I’ve seen established, well known authors with one star reviews. Some people just love putting up poor reviews.

      • I figure I can try again as long as I don’t have any real comments there yet. Would hate to lose those, but if taking the book down is the only option, then at this point I guess I can still do it. Although after I get all the covers set and systems going, I’ll just grit my teeth and see what happens.
        But as far as those pointer-clicker-comments go – comes with the territory 🙂

Leave a Reply

