A to Z Challenge – Spell crafts – Knots

When I began my studies, I was really taken by one particular spell. It goes like this:

By knot of ONE, the spell’s begun
By knot of TWO, it comes true
By knot of THREE, so mote it be
By knot of FOUR, this power I store
By knot of FIVE, the spell’s alive
By knot of SIX, this spell I fix
By knot of SEVEN, events I’ll leaven
By knot of EIGHT, it will be Fate
By knot of NINE, what’s done is mine

I learned it in English and still perform it in English. It’s classic and is one of the first beginner spells, because you can mix it up in so many other things. You can do it for witches’ ladder or some love spells, bindings…

One place I like using it for is when you finish sewing something and when you have to knot the ends – 9 knots and it both gives extra knots to keep it intact but will also provide protection if you power it so. Perfect way to add extra zing if you are making bags for spells or tarot or runes or making your gowns.

The Cingulum, witches belt, is 9 feet in length and can be made so it has 9 knots in it. The reason for 9 is the Three times Three rule most British line witches follow. It is not what I follow, but I really really love that belt idea.

Leave a comment

Filed under Knots

Leave a Reply

