A to Z Challenge – Spell crafts – Grain

Because it is important to me that my family is always fed, I tend to do a lot of work with grain. Different grains have different purposes to me personally, but in general it is one of the most homey tools for me.

One of spells I keep doing again and again, is a simple barley spell. The purpose of it is literally keeping the food on table and I tend to prefer barley because its flour is used for black bread here. Fertility of the crops. I don’t grow any myself, but that doesn’t mean I can’t worry about the bread on my table.

The idea is that you have a bowl and grain for each food time per day per year. So I have 3 meals a day 365 days a year I need 1095 grains. I count them, put them in the bowl and power them. Sounds simple? Well, the idea itself is, but as with all the simple things – it was rather difficult. But later all you need to do is to spiral your finger in it and move them around a bit to keep the spell going until next autumn equinox.

There are several divination ways that use grains. Some methods tell you pile them up, some count them out in 3s, some tell you toss them in fire and listen how they crack.

I use them in sachets if I do protection spells. Acorns and barley make excellent combination for the base of protection spells.

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Grain

Leave a Reply

