Staying motivated

Topic of the week in my writings as well.

Two weeks ago  I thought I had some good advice on how to stay motivated to write, but as that ship has sailed, I feel that it was good to pack it up with all the goodies in the world, but I think I didn’t pack it well enough, because in the sudden storm, that ship has sunk. I am feeling much less motivated than I care to admit and in this past week, I tried out all the fantastic ideas I found from the books and I can’t really advocate that they’ve worked.

Plus my coffee is making popping sounds. How on earth is that even possible?

I don’t keep motivation posters on my wall. I don’t have some long term goal, when it comes to writing. Just that I want to finally finish the book I’m writing. Still, with my schedule (and no, it is not an excuse, but reality), it might take longer time. So I don’t put much into being inspired by that. It will happen, when the time comes.

However, what often motivates me, is the story. I have three stories currently, which I haven’t been able to finish. Not because lack of time, but I am just not ready. Lazette is right about this – jump in and just do it. Find a story that intrigues you and write it out. Often, when I start writing something, it keeps me going if I leave the work sitting with cliff hanger. That seems to be the best motivator to continue – to solve that and hang the character on next one.

But as far as it comes to having long term goals as motivations – that doesn’t really work for me. If the story is out and written, then the motivation ends and I need a new fix. But sometimes, that fix doesn’t come. That’s ok, body needs rest every now and then, too.

* * *

Today’s post is my response to the prompt on “Staying motivated” this month’s topic for the Merry-Go-Round Blog Tour. Throughout the month, you can get to know twenty (or so) other writers from various genres and backgrounds and at various places in their careers.

Next stop on the tour is B.C. Matthews on August 21st, 2012.

Leave a comment

Filed under Merry-Go-Round Blog Tour

Leave a Reply

