Projects Progress

Projects Progress

 

Time to show what I’ve got.

At this point I have three projects that take up my time in writing sense. I have plenty of other things as well, but when it comes to writing, I’m trying to focus. Can’t say it is actually working.

My main project – the novel – is doing much better than I expected. Though I used the chance of yet another Nanowrimo to get myself going again, it might just have done the trick. I translated what I had, which wasn’t much, and raised the word count over 40k. Considering I’ve been on this book for over a year now, I think having the project going again is very good result.

Though I try to focus on that, long done well done, there are two other stories that have raised their heads from the grass. One is an old synopsis I wrote down after seeing an odd dream with one memorable scene. It’s about a girl, who decides to adopt 7 boys and how it goes. The story was always missing something, but then it suddenly dawned on me, what. So now it’s back on and going and I think I’ll try writing it on the side, because I really love the idea and the characters. A bit cliché on the spine, but it’s just in the beginning. Odd is, with this one, I actually know how it ends. It’s first time I know how it ends and I still want to write the story. It makes me feel like I’ve reached next level in writing.

Third one is a fanfiction. I know what most people think of that genre and how it makes them go oooh and aaah and why? All in one sentence. It’s a nice way to play out scenes. For most writers, whom I know to write fanfiction, they use it to experiment with feelings. I do it for the same reason too. Plus sometimes you just get the idea that begs to be put on a paper.

As far for finishing anything this month, I don’t think it will be happening. I do hope to do it in this year number, but not now. There are few books I want to read before I continue with most of the writing and despite hearing fellow local writers feeling like kicking me, I do believe in not inventing a bicycle. One thing I’ve noticed though, I don’t avoid the mistakes by reading books about creative writing. Unless you really put your back into it and do the heavy lifting, there won’t be any muscle mass. So, no need to fear that reading how to write will turn you into mass. I can guarantee – you’ll still be making mistakes. The difference is, those books help you recognize those mistakes.

For now, I continue making those mistakes and filling the space with words. Despite the heat, the stories are going strong and I have all the power in me right now to keep going. They will be done one day, but for now, when I am starting to understand, what I am doing, I’d like to enjoy the mistakes and the process of creating something.

 

 * * *   

Today’s post is my response to the prompt on “Projects Progress” this month’s topic for the Merry-Go-Round Blog Tour. Throughout the month, you can get to know twenty (or so) other writers from various genres and backgrounds and at various places in their careers.

Next stop on the tour is B.C. Matthews on May 21st, 2012

Leave a comment

Filed under Merry-Go-Round Blog Tour

Leave a Reply

