It was hot the other day

It was hot in Sicily
the other day.
In June 1963.
No shirt kind of day.

 I washed away some dishes,
Greco’s words from radio
Echoing in head.

 Praying, you’d call me.

Perhaps you thought you’re smart.
But an idiot,
as far as I was concerned.
For only fool won’t call
And let me know.

 You were ok
the other day

***

Creative Writing Group home task. Based on First Sicilian Mafia War in June 1963.

I don’t usually write poems. Ever.  But it’s the home task, so one can at least give it a try, can’t we?

Leave a comment

Filed under Creative Writing Group, my own works, Poems

Leave a Reply

