Cigarette Butts

OK! Old issue out, new issue in!

 Here’s the deal – I was caught up in an argument over cigarette butts being tossed on the street.

I said I have an old grudge with that, because when I was about eight, we had huge wildfire in Northern Estonia and three guys were killed while fighting with it. I have the issue with it, because my father was called in as well and I don’t wish anyone the terror, when you realize you might never see your dad again.  So, yes, I’m harsh on the matter.

Few sentences later, however, I was told that this is an issue a smoker can never make nonsmoker to understand. I asked, how? She said, because I toss it on ground, when I can’t find a garbage can.

In Tartu, most public places have garbage cans outside – it’s not an excuse around here.  I know others do that, but, well, jumping off the cliff joke comes to mind…

Ahaa! But there’s the old issue that if you walk from one nightclub to one shopping centre 1,2 km away, there are no garbage cans!

That’s 15 minutes on foot! Your argument is that if you can’t find a garbage can in 15 minutes, then you have the right to toss your cigarette butt down! Or off the bridge, considering most of that walk is over a large bridge. That in minus 30 degrees you can’t hold a smoke butt in your hand that 15 minutes to toss it away in a garbage can! How can you even put on a smoke in such temperature? If you are willing to hold that smoke in such cold for 5 minutes it takes to end it, then what sort of argument is that? Google maps, two minutes on street view and the argument is invalid. Besides every public house, bus stops have garbage cans, too…

Hold on a second – what?

It went on few more sentences, when I realized that she was pinning down a length of a street space, that if there are no garbage cans in that space, she has the right to toss her cigarette butt down!

How old are you?!?

There is not even a question if to toss your cigarette butt down, because the entire world is your home – you don’t toss the trash on your bedroom floor, why would you do it in town?

Then came “what do you mean, you don’t toss trash down in your home?”

I should have ended the argument right there. If you haven’t been taught to clean after yourself at home, then what are we talking about? Clean, like toss the garbage right in the can, not take a road tour over your floor.

I said that it shouldn’t matter how far one trash pin is from another. And it doesn’t have to be announced to be illegal. You just don’t do that. Caring about your enviourment, anyone?

No, she needed a specific space on the land.

I don’t think we should add more pins in city space on the argument by smokers that “if you don’t, I’ll toss it down.” Smoking, after all, is addiction and I do not think we should support it by creating more comforts for smokers. It’s narcotic! We don’t create space for cocaine addicts to get their shots, why do we do it for smokers? It’s not nesessity for survival. It is a matter of choice.

“Why are you comparing it with narcotics?”

Another punch line, where it is obvious you don’t even understand the basics of a smoke. Why are smokers so proud for their addiction? Like it makes you better from nonsmokers. I like my smelling and taste buds and the fact that I don’t grave for something every five minutes of my day. I made the choice not to smoke. So yes, I am living proof  that it is not nesessity for life. Oh, but that’s not an argument.  I’m not a smoker, so I don’t understand the problems smokers have! I have a father, who is non-stop smoker for longer than I’ve been in this world!

How about this then? Sign of a healthy mental thinking is that you can put yourself in other’s shoes and think two steps ahead. This is not an argument that you can’t discuss with nonsmoker! It is plain simple caring for your surroundings!

Cigarette butt -> fire -> wildfire -> death

Cigarette butt -> animal mistakes it for food -> sickness -> death

Until you yourself clean the butts up in the morning after a wild night – you, who you whine that even holding the butt for 5 minutes longer makes your fingers reek – you can’t say you have the right to toss it down!

Until you yourself don’t collect the dead carcasses of animals from the street, who have died for eating that shit – you have NO RIGHT to say you have the right to toss it down!

Yes they reek, but after holding it on your lips for five minutes – how come it suddenly is so disgusting to hold on to it for five minutes longer? But animals die out of quick move of your hand. Wildfires are started out of your negligence! And you never clean the butts yourselves!

The length between one pin to another is NOT an argument putting other at risk for your choice of life and your inability to control your adiction!

So give me ONE GOOD REASON, why you can’t do even so much as to hold on to that butt until you see a garbage can to toss it away!

2 Comments

Filed under Trivia

2 responses to “Cigarette Butts

  1. Thank you! As someone who lives in a place of high fire danger all the time this infuriates me.

    • Odd thing though – 5 minutes on lips is fine, but after that, big problem if they need to hold it more than a minute. This has to change – if they so like to smoke, they need to understand that others should not be forced to put up with their leftovers.

Leave a Reply

