Brigid doll

It was Brigid day on 1st of February. In my culture it’s Candlemas. Not with that name exactly, but it has its own traditions and truths that we follow. But this year I felt the need to do something for Brigid, too.

In Wikipedia, it is said about Brigid that she was “a woman of poetry, and poets worshipped her, for her sway was very great and very noble. And she was a woman of healing along with that, and a woman of smith’s work, and it was she first made the whistle for calling one to another through the night. And the one side of her face was ugly, but the other side was very comely. And the meaning of her name was Breo-saighit, a fiery arrow.”

As a Goddess or Saint, I have very fond relations with her. She has always been a positive representation to me and thus, even though I don’t celebrate it fully, I still keep her in mind and try to light a candle for her honor. This year I had something special planned, which unfortunately I wasn’t able to fulfill. I wanted to make a bed for Brigid. But I didn’t have a doll nor wheat or anything to make the doll from. So what can you do?

Brigid dollTo start with I looked around and found that my bead chest was spilling over. I have a small box, where I put together all the beads that are left over from projects. I remembered soul dolls I had seen some time back, made of leather and beads, dressed up. I started the doll about a month before. I was swamped with daily life, so I knew my timing was late for a holiday, but I pushed myself to at least finish the doll in time. And I did, with 5 minutes to spare.

So here she is – my Brigid doll. Took me 2 weeks of constant work, but it is ready now. It is heavy, weights nearly 70 grams duo all the beads in it. I know she looks odd and little eerie even, but I wanted to do something unique. Now I have time to make her bed for next year and clothes to dress her up. The coolest thing – she can stand up! Except she doesn’t hold her head up, thanks to a flat neck.

1 Comment

Filed under goddesses.

One response to “Brigid doll

  1. Pingback: Evil versatility | Flying over a forest

Leave a Reply

