The State of the Industry- Mood Shoppers

 I must admit I know very little about industry. It has always been something that is far away, out of reach or out of “I want this” obsession.

 When I think of industry, the very old dilemma rises up in my heart that drove even Koontz to write his book – genres. Around Estonia, genre writing is a combination of hidden tactics. Unless it categorizes under youth, fiction, art or music, there really isn’t anything to follow. Finding something using genre search is difficult and anyone going for romance can end up with science fiction with a bit of it instead of the obvious book shelf that sits under the big sign “romances”. It is often criticized as something to avoid, writing under one genre.

I would like to disagree. I love genre literature and for it’s one and only purpose – to fill time according to how I feel like at that certain day. It is like picking the right color outfit to go with your mood.  I’m guessing it is because humans have this wonderful ability to have fantasies and they like to play their fantasies through in their head as many times as they can while changing only minimum details. If I follow genre writing, I get right that – I can pick my fantasy and play it over and over through books by changing only a little.

Does the industry need it? I think so. It hasn’t disappeared throughout two centuries, so there must be something right about it.

One taunting “truth” I’ve come across lately, has been that because the opening self-publishing for writers is getting bigger than through agents, that we are on verge of bad fiction overload. Especially where genre writing is involved.

I wonder how much can one man actually know what books we like? There are several self-published badly styled books with new ideas and characters that I can’t get out of my head even now while some of the books that I’ve picked up, because they have been promoted to the top, I can’t get past the first chapters! Does this show my inadequacy to understand high-profile writers? Perhaps it shows that my taste doesn’t fit with the publisher’s choice.

With e-books comes the “choosing fast” factor. We scan through tens of books per day, quickly searching what would go best with our mood, for mood is often the only chooser if the book doesn’t figurate in compulsory literature. How many do we actually follow someone else’s suggestions after we get through high school? I know very few, who even admit reading something from heavier class after they discover that they don’t have to do it. The more important is the quality the genre writing offers.

I don’t want to sound uninviting to young writers – this is not meant to give you expression as if there is no way in to the field of industry. There is. I’m sure there is and I’ll find my way someday, too. We just need to follow the speed, without forgetting the grammar, punctuation and spelling. Because if they decide on our book by mere pages, we might as well show that even for that speed we are correct and can provide sensation the reader is after, when he picks our book up.

Today’s post is my response to the prompt on “The State of  Industry” this month’s topic for the Merry-Go-Round Blog Tour. Throughout the month, you can get to know twenty (or so) other writers from various genres and backgrounds and at various places in their careers.

Next stop on the tour is B.C. Matthews on November  21st, 2012

Leave a comment

Filed under Merry-Go-Round Blog Tour, Writing

Leave a Reply

