Some help for Dyshidrotic Eczema sufferers

 As nasty as it sounds, it is surprisingly common – you get small blisters under the skin of your fingertips. It looks ugly, but it doesn’t itch. That is until they break and suddenly you wake up in the middle of the night realizing you are just about to scratch your fingers off. If that happens, they multiply and soon after infection gets in and it gets far worse.

I get it every spring like clock work since I was 8. So far nothing has helped and for two weeks up to a month I get irritated, because nothing helps – no expensive cream, no hiding from the weather, no nothing.

Until a week ago, when it started itching again and I was ready to put it under scorching flame just to get it stop and rampaged through my essential oil box for anything that would make it burn so I could get some sleep. I was thinking on oregano, eucalypt – anything! It’s not fungus infection, I know that already, but I figured they should at least ease the infection.

I found Tea tree instead. Tapped a bit on the finger and it soothed down the burning sensation, but didn’t make the bubbles go. The infection went down, though.

Then, while being in sauna and staring at the painful bubbling finger, I had epiphany.

 1 teaspoon propolis
(1 teaspoon liquid honey)
10 drops of Tea tree essential oil
10 drops of Sage oil
10 drops of Rosemary oil
1 teaspoon vegetable glycerin
1 teaspoon of Calendula petals or Calendula oil
2-3 cm of wax – candle or beeswax, doesn’t matter as long as its natural

 Melt in one small pot (I use old metal cup) together propolis, Calendula petal powder and beeswax. I would recommend using Calendula oil which you can make very well yourself by infusing dried Calendula with equal amount of oil for 2 weeks in dark place, shaking it through once each day. Add glycerin, essential oil and if you wish, some honey. Only, I think the honey made it granulated, so I’m thinking of skipping it. Immediately put in the small container and stir it a bit while it cools. That will help to keep it better mixed. After cooled, store in cool dark place and apply 2-3 times a day until completely healed. 

 Half an hour later – the bubbles were gone, the itching was gone and the skin was almost normal! By normal I mean the tiny scars were there, but the red inflammation is gone, there is no fluid in the bubbles and it does not itch.  Seriously – no itching! That is so weird I keep touching the place, just to check if there are still nerves in that area.

Fantastic!

So if you have problems with bubbly fingers and don’t have allergy to beeproducts – it might help you too. Took me less than 5 minutes with warming the stove and it worked far better than I hoped for.

Leave a comment

Filed under korilus, Remedies

Leave a Reply

