My chopped off green fingers

I realized I’ve got a huge part of my education missing – gardening. With this I’ve already said that I’ve taken deaper interest in wild plants, but knowing it isn’t making things easier. I don’t like that I’ve lost contact with it.

I started easy by knowingly watering the plants that I do have. I’m no green finger – even doing that has taken hard commitment, not forgetting to do that. I started by buying myself one of my favorite plants – common ivy (should be Hedera Helix by the looks of the leafage). I can’t imagine house without it, it being one of those plants that didn’t survive moving in our new place. But where I have it right now, it seems to like it. So now I’ve gone for nearly half a year developing the skill of not forgetting to water my plants.

Watering unfortunately isn’t the only aspect in gardening, so now I’m looking into growing some simple things from the seeds as next experiment. Having come from country, it wouldn’t be the first time and I’ve tried now and then, but never taken it that serious. This time I just might. I’ve got two candidates to start from – one is Iris Germanica florentina (the one that I rattled on not getting my hands on) and the other lavender. Naturally I’m not gonna try growing them from seed, that would be too over my head for first try, but I know where I can get the roots and there’s a shop that sells lavender plants and mom agreed that it would make nice pot plant. Though lavender would survive if covered on open land here, it wouldn’t be true for our garden. The temperature gets too low. Except this year, which is so annoying I could bite the Father Frost for this!

From seeds I was thinking of calendula, till, few salads, kale (the plant intrigues me) and perhaps few other things. Peppermint for sure. If the plant on sis’ window survives the winter, it will go in soil. I am too much in love of the mead-like lemonade. I’m not sure the wild peppermint will survive.

I think what got me more interested in this gardening business, is the fact that we are renewing our fruit trees and evergreens. They are getting too old and too dangerous. I’m glad that the linden trees are showing signs of surviving the horrific beheading. I’m not glad that they took down maple though – I miss the juice already. But renewing means we can pick the fruits going in the garden. Like apples that we can actually eat and make juice or jam from or marinate, pears, prunes, dolgo, … that are pretty much it. Some peaches, Chinese apricots, figs (wouldn’t that be a dream?), grapes (we need a good site and very stern plant), persimmon (I’m not keen on the fruit at all), too. Weird is I like peaches, yet I can’t eat more than one or two plums per season. I’m probably pushing through adding juniper in the punch, as well as black elderberry and without a doubt they’ll be joined by rowan. We’ve already got cherries and some plums, but that is not enough. If I get my own place, this will stand true, too. Except plums, which I really have no good use for. Perhaps just the best tasting one, a yellow type.

Were in gardening zone 5. Good to remember next time I seek internet information.

Yesterday, I got myself RHS New Encyclopedia of Gardening Techniques: The Essential Practical Guide (Estonian version). Not to go over the edge and make a jump start, but to have it at home. They were selling it close to 50 percent off price, so I didn’t even have bad feeling for putting the money out. It’s one of those things I rather have at home than miss it when I have one of those elaborated beginner moments and can’t decide the correct action and give up. The same place with the ABC of Estonian Wild Plants and The Herbal Medicine-Maker’s Handbook: A Home Manual. The latter two have proved more useful than one would think on first glance. I might not take them out every day, but I have been more than glad that I decided to buy them.

Leave a comment

Filed under foraging, korilus, survival of the fittest

Leave a Reply

