Summer brews

Art by NinfeAdeI don’t think that’s the right word for it, but how else would you call it? Throughout this week I’ve been brewing one oddity after another. Matricaria discoidea in oil deadline was yesterday, so I strained the herb and bottled it. It does smell nice, but I don’t think I can keep it for very long.

The week started with preparing the Mint mead again. This time I left out the clover, so I hope the taste will be milder and fuller. It sits nicely in the cellar now, waiting for its time.

Then I got some ginger and as I was already out of that brew, I made new patch of that. It truly is lifesaver and tastes good. Recipe is simple: take 4 cm fat rout of ginger, cut it to small pieces (you don’t have to peal it, but it tastes better if you do), add a glassful of water and few cloves. Let it to boil, turn off the heat and let it sit there for 10 minutes. Take it from heat and let it cool. Strain the rout and bottle. Add a dash of it to your morning coffee or tea and your stomach will love you. Might have nauseating effect on some people.

As the final touch, I made Mint Syrup. It was so easy to do, I think I’ll repeat it in the future. The taste was surprisingly heavy and strong. I didn’t expect that at all. I thought it would be somewhat mild oddity, but not that it would knock your brain out. Which it did, making me feel like I was living in some odd dream where everything was very clear. Added it to my coffee this morning and I must say it was a revelation. No more buying that syrup from the coffee shop for that obnoxious price. For this I took 100g-glassfulls following: 1 glass water, 2 glass sugar and huge pile of mint leafs. Cut the mint up a bit, sent all in a pot and brought it to boil. Let it boil for about a minute, then removed from the heat, let the sugar melt and let the brew cool. After that strained them and bottled.

Adding to this the herb oils for cooking I have brewing at Tartu and I feel like the witch I’ve dreamed of being. Practical magic – the knowledge to make your life richer. Gee, I think I need a bigger fridge.

Reminds me we do need to start picking berries. And I do need to get the gum Arabic from somewhere. I keep seeing recipes, simple stuff that I could do with it and I can’t keep my hands steady anymore – it has to exist somewhere.

I have also been looking for Pine resin. I’ve never thought it could end up so hard to get. It seems silly to order it from America while we have huge forests filled with pine here. So I keep looking for it. I see an oportunity to go searching for it this week-end and considering I’m still after a healthy dose of any grain related straw, I think I would gladly mix the two together and take a local gathering tour.

Leave a comment

Filed under korilus, Toidukultuur, Year and a Day

Leave a Reply

